The Eyebeam Award

Since its founding in 1997, Eyebeam has actively provided total support for people that critically reflect and constructively engage with emerging technology. Every year, to commemorate that history, the organization grants two Eyebeam Awards in the Annual Benefit to people who have shown exemplary creativity and courage in art and technology.

In 2015 the inaugural Eyebeam Award was created, and granted to Ayah Bdeir and Trevor Paglen. Nominating field-defining practitioners for the award is a special privilege of alums.

The Annual Eyebeam Award for Creativity and Courage is given to those who have developed impactful work, tools, processes, or strategies in relation to Eyebeam’s core values:

Openness, the generous spirit of collaboration;
Invention, original thinking and creative making;
Justice, righting structural wrongs.



Barbara London
Not An Alternative

Winners To Be Announced

Selection Committee:
Mouna Andraos (Chair)
Lisa Dent
Allyson Kapin
Trevor Paglen

Award Design: MSHR


Ayah Bdeir, open hardware advocate, littleBits founder
Trevor Paglen, critical geographer and acclaimed artist

Award Design: Lilian Kreutzberger